Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Any BAS Communications Managers on the forum

Hi guys,

This is my first post on the forum but hopfully not my last My name is Richard, I am 25 and for a number of years now I have thought about applying to BAS to be a Communications Manager. i have been doing a lot of research which lead me to this forum, i have been working in IT for about 4 years now, and antarctica is a dream I really want to go for while I still can, so I was really looking for advice on applying and what BAS look for,

so i was woundering if any here has done that role before? any advice?

anyways hope to get to know you all soon,

Richard

Re: Any BAS Communications Managers on the forum

no one use these forums at all? :-(

Comment

Only a few visit this place on a daily basis (myself included), but not too many things are happening. Maybe if the forum is about celebrity nonsense, it would be overcrowded, lol...

Anyway, before others greet you, stay around and enjoy

Comment

It's an unusual role and there aren't many of them, so there may only be 5-10 people who have done that job on that base. When I was in Antarctica 20 years ago the job didn't exist, but the job I did has existed for over 50 years at multiple bases perfomed by multiple people at once.

If you are interested then apply, they will send you lots of information about the role, come up with specific questions and then ask here.

Your specific job on base will have a significant effect on your experience of Antarctica. I would guess that this job will not take you off base as part of your normal duties. Remember the base is where you live work and spend much of your spare time.

There are 2 aspects to being in Antarctica, the physical environment and the "mental environment" inside your head. If you're ok with these then apply for the job.

Comment