Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Good day every 1

Hello,

You can call me Joe, I'm a thermo-dynamic engineer. But I realize that I may be washing dishes in between fixing stuff "IF" I ever get down to McMurdo. In adition to the generalized duties, refuse management, loading and unloading materials and supplies and unclogging the toilet in one of the worker's dorms. (LOL)

I'm glad to be a member of this site and look forward to reading all of your interesting and educational articles as I prepare for the possibility of Antarctic/sub zero employment next year.

It is good to meet you all.

Welcome

I'm not sure exactly what a thermo-dynamic engineer does, but the USAP needs engineers, and my understanding is that a good engineer has a good chance of being hired on - if you have the skills they need.

It's a bit late to apply for the coming summer season, but it's still a possibility if you act fast. It will take some time for medical qualifications and all.

You're unlikely to be washing dishes - that's a separate duty at McMurdo, and combined with janitorial duties at South Pole. For the other stuff, you'd have to be a General Assistant, a UT, a plumber, or working in waste - and I think I still missed a category - but none of those would have all of those duties. Keep in mind, during the summer McMurdo has roughly 1200 inhabitants. There's a lot of specialization there. South Pole, with about 250, has less, and Palmer, with less than 100, I think has the least specialization.

In any case, if you are really interested go meet some people in Denver. You might even have a chance at a full-time job that happens to require you to go to Antarctica for a few months each year.

Anyway, welcome to the forum and good luck.

Comment

Re: Good day every 1

Well from what I understand ... ...it is better to be a cross-platformed worker....