Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Next Stop Antarctica...

Hello Fellow Antarcticans,

I'm Ken and I'm currently living in Piriapolis, Uruguay. I've been moving south for a few years now after leaving NYC since the spring of 2001. My interest in Antarctica began about 30 years ago while brainstorming with friends about the best place to be if the world was engulfed in a nuclear holocaust. I began several years of research reading the tales of exploration, compiling maps and documents. I was little disheartened when I studied the Antarctic Treaty in law school, realizing that I wouldn't be mushing my huskies across the Antarctic plain anytime soon.

Well, life and reality took over and the concerns of work and kids and marriage, pushed those fantasies and fears to the back of my mind. Working in lower Manhattan the morning of September 11th, started a process whereby I felt an new urge to leave the city. Not really with the intention of heading to Antarctica, though deep in the mind who knows what compells us. I took the opportunity to leave the city and get out into the world a little, something I'd been meaning to do.

We spent a few years in the tropics and continued down to Uruguay as if being called to something, drawn perhaps. Now living in Piriapolis, I've come to meet people with the same idea of venturing down by sailboat. Many of the boats in our harbor are being provisioned and preparing for the journey down. Perhaps I will get my chance to experience this dream.

Each time before I make a move my research begins with a google search, reading blogs and joining a forum. Great tools these forums, wonderful places to meet and exchange factual and actual information in real time. Thanks to Paul for starting this site, and thank you posters, I know that the posters are what keep these things active inspiring Paul to keep it going! Great Information.

Re: Next Stop Antarctica...