Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Greetings from a Polie

Hello All,

My name is Alan Light, and I was an electrician at the South Pole Station from 31 October 2007 to 5 February 2008. Before that I spent three weeks in October working at McMurdo Station.

I know that's not a whole lot of experience, but it's a start, and I may be going back next summer.

I was hoping to find a discussion forum related to the Antarctic, and this one ranks highest in Google - so here I am.

I took lots of pictures and a few movies both at McMurdo and at Pole, and I'm still sorting through things. When I'm done, I'll make an offer to send a DVD or three to anyone who is interested. I should be able to manage that with the small readership here.

Re: Greetings from a Polie

Hi Alan and welcome to the board

Pics and movies are always particularly welcome, Antarctica seems to be an especially visual place.

If you could post some pics here on the "members pictures" section it would be good. I have some video footage that I'll be putting on the site before too long too when I get around to editing it, maybe I could add yours too? I'm not very clued up on this yet, so it would need you to send it to me in some format to do this.

Comment

Re: Greetings from a Polie

Originally posted by Paul Ward
      If you could post some pics here on the "members pictures" section it would be good. I have some video footage that I'll be putting on the site before too long too when I get around to editing it, maybe I could add yours too? I'm not very clued up on this yet, so it would need you to send it to me in some format to do this.