Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Antarctic Arrol Johnston?

Hi folks,

You may have read in my "Introduction" thread I'm a volunteer researcher in the Museum of Transport in Glasgow, Scotland, currently working on building up an information file on the "Antartic Arrol Johnston" car.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...dyworkDeta.jpg

I have been doing this project on and off over the last few years, nothing too involved, just enough to produce a growing information file for use by the Curators in the museum.
    However one of the mysteries, for me at least, is what happened to the vehicle, did it survive or is it lying buried in the ice somewhere near Shackletons camp, or what? I'm aware there are bits of the vehicle either in museums (perhaps now returned) or still at the camp - but does anybody here know different?

Likewise, if you would be willing to share with me anything you know yourself regarding this remarkable vehicle I would very much appreciate it - every little bit helps.

Many thanks for your time, Argyll.

Re: Antarctic Arrol Johnston?

Hi Argyll,

There's at least one bit of it left in Antarctica:

http://www.coolantarctica.com/PhotoP.../500/ppuser/33

Tthe commentry says that it was "returned home", but that may just be an assumption? My guess is that it more likely to have been removed as there is a lot of stuff left around the huts and there is no trace of it.

The later "traditional" way of disposing of rubbish was to take it out to sea and leave it on an ice-floe to disappear when the ice broke out. This fate may have befallen this car, but I suspect it is unlikely.

Interesting to hear if it is at least semi-intact anywhere.

Comment

Thank you Paul - that photograph is the most detailed one I've seen yet. I'm almost scared to mention this as it shows what a "rivet counter" I've become - its a front wheel.